History

 

El Niguel Country Club is situated on the Rancho Niguel land grant of Juan Avila, land claimed by the Spanish in 1769.

 

The 18-hole golf course was opened for play in 1963 on land previously used for cattle ranching. The course was built by the Laguna Niguel Corporation as an inducement to developers in the area; the clubhouse was simply two model homes on the #10 tee. The present clubhouse was built in 1972.

El Niguel Country Club was incorporated as a member-owned club in 1976 by a group of 23 Founders, and the golf course, the clubhouse and the associated property were purchased by the Club. By 1980 all 485 Equity memberships were sold and all debt from the incorporation retired.

El Niguel Country Club boasts an 18-hole championship golf course. The course is 7,060 yards of beautiful terrain that poses a challenge for golfers of all skill levels. The course features rolling hills, three lakes and a meandering creek throughout the course. In 2008 a state-of-the-art irrigation system was installed and the lakes and bunkers were completely refurbished, along with the addition of our new short game facility. To ensure that we continually improve on what we believe is the finest “players’ course” in Orange County, we have embarked on a long-term master plan for the golf course, which will result in even further enhancements to its beauty and playability. The dedication of the member-owners ensures that continuous future improvements will always be a top priority.

The clubhouse has also been upgraded many times since 1972. Most recently, in 2011 we hired a nationally known designer to lead a dramatic upgrade to the interior of our clubhouse. The first phase of this upgrade was completed in late 2012.